About
About Xi'an Shiyou University
Xi’an Shiyou University (西安石油大学) — the name means Xi’an Petroleum University, and the College of International Education’s own site still uses that translation in places — was founded in October 1951 as the Northwest Petroleum Technical College and became the Xi’an Petroleum Institute in 1958 before taking its present name. It is a multidisciplinary university with a distinct petroleum and petrochemical character, co-constructed by China’s three major petroleum companies (CNPC, SINOPEC and CNOOC) and the People’s Government of Shaanxi Province. It is not in the national Double First-Class list; the 2026 brochure describes it as a Shaanxi provincial "Double First-Class" cultivation university and a high-level university construction institution, and as a university in the national "14th Five-Year Plan for Education Power Promotion Project".
The university has three campuses in Xi’an — Yanta, Mingde and Huyi (鄠邑) — covering 2,078 mu in total. The College of International Education and the admissions address are on Dianzi 2nd Road in Yanta District, but international students’ dormitories are on the Mingde and Huyi campuses, and the two are priced very differently (see Campus life). Teaching spans nine disciplinary categories — science, engineering, economics, management, literature, law, education and art among them — with 3 first-level disciplines authorised for doctoral degrees, 18 first-level disciplines authorised for master’s degrees, 15 professional master’s degree categories and 55 undergraduate majors.
Two official pages give different faculty figures, so quote the one you need with its source. The 2026 brochure states more than 2,000 faculty members, over 1,380 full-time teachers, more than 750 with senior professional titles, over 770 doctoral and master’s supervisors and more than 900 teachers with doctoral degrees; the university’s English Brief Introduction gives over 1,350 full-time teachers, over 700 senior titles, more than 690 supervisors and over 870 teachers with doctorates. The same introduction puts current enrolment at more than 18,000 undergraduates, more than 5,400 master’s and doctoral students and over 1,000 international students. XSYU has enrolled international students since 1966; the 2026 brochure and the College of International Education page count more than 10,000 alumni from 95 countries and regions, while the English Brief Introduction says 93 countries.
Engineering, chemistry, earth sciences and materials science, per the 2026 admission brochure
Plus 7 provincial-level advantageous disciplines (2026 brochure)
University English Brief Introduction
Co-built by CNPC, SINOPEC, CNOOC and the Shaanxi Provincial Government
Built around the oil industry
Co-constructed by CNPC, SINOPEC and CNOOC with the Shaanxi government; petroleum engineering, offshore oil and gas engineering, geology and resource exploration are the core of both the undergraduate and the English-taught lists.
A national demonstration base
The College of International Education (also called the Silk Road Energy College, founded 2010) became a Chinese Government Scholarship institution in 2012 and a Ministry of Education "Demonstration Base for International Students in China" in 2014, and XSYU admits Chinese Government Scholarship students independently.
Moderate tuition
RMB 15,500 a year for a Chinese-taught bachelor’s degree and RMB 18,500 in English, with dormitory beds from RMB 3,000 a year on the Huyi campus (2026 brochure).
Silk Road and Central Asia focus
Xi’an municipal scholarships for Belt and Road and Central Asian students sit alongside the Chinese Government Scholarship, and the university has signed joint-training agreements in Uzbekistan and joined the Shanghai Cooperation Organization University network.
Admission
Admission, programs & tuition
XSYU admits international students to bachelor’s (4 years), master’s (3 years) and doctoral (4 years) degrees, all described in one 2026 degree brochure published by the College of International Education in English and in Chinese. Every application — scholarship or self-funded — is made online on the XSYU platform at xsyu.at0086.cn/student; nothing is posted. Chinese Government Scholarship applicants must also register first on the CSC platform (campuschina.org) with institution code 10705 and program type B, then select "Chinese Government Scholarship Program" on the XSYU platform. Three things stand out in the 2026 cycle. First, undergraduate applicants must sit the China Scholastic Competency Assessment (CSCA) and reach a passing score, with subjects set per major, and submit the score with the application by 30 June 2026. Second, the language bar is the same HSK level at every degree: HSK 4 with at least 180 points for Chinese-taught study, including doctoral study — the 2025 postgraduate brochure had asked doctoral applicants for HSK 5, so do not rely on older copies. Third, the English-taught offer is narrower than the Chinese-taught one: 6 of 12 undergraduate majors, 10 of 21 master’s majors and 2 of 3 doctoral majors can be taken in English. Age limits are 18–24 for undergraduates, 35 for master’s and 45 for doctoral applicants.
Degree programs
Select a degree level to see tuition, duration and entry requirements.
Bachelor’s degreeUndergraduate
Twelve majors across eight colleges. Six can be taken in English: petroleum engineering, offshore oil and gas engineering, geology, resource exploration engineering, civil engineering, and computer science and technology. The other six are Chinese-taught only: electrical engineering and automation, mechatronic engineering, new energy science and engineering, software engineering, international economy and trade, and Chinese language and literature. CSCA subjects follow the major: Chinese-taught engineering and science majors require Science (Chinese), Mathematics and Physics; their English-taught versions require Mathematics and Physics; international economy and trade requires Science (Chinese) and Mathematics; Chinese language and literature requires Humanities and Arts (Chinese) and Mathematics. No major on the 2026 list requires Chemistry.
- Chinese-taught programs
- RMB 15,500 / year
- English-taught programs
- RMB 18,500 / year
Application requirements
- Non-Chinese citizen in good physical and mental health.
- High-school graduation certificate or equivalent, aged between 18 and 24.
- China Scholastic Competency Assessment (CSCA) taken with a passing score, in the subjects the major requires; registration is at www.csca.cn and the score must be submitted with the application by 30 June 2026. Applicants may choose the test language of required subjects according to the teaching language of the major.
- Chinese-taught programs: HSK Level 4 with a score of 180 or above. Applicants to Chinese language and literature who hold a valid HSK 4 certificate with 180 or above are exempted from the CSCA Humanities and Arts (Chinese) paper.
- English-taught programs: IELTS 5.5, TOEFL 69 or Duolingo 90 or above, or a certificate, bearing the school’s official seal, that your highest qualification was taught in English.
- Study plan in Chinese or English of at least 300 words.
Master’s degreeGraduate
Twenty-one master’s majors, ten of them marked as available in English: petroleum and natural gas engineering, geology, geological resources and geological engineering, electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, power engineering and engineering thermophysics, materials science and engineering, computer science and technology, industrial economics, and enterprise management. Chinese-taught only: chemical engineering and technology, civil engineering, optical engineering, mathematics, regional economics, finance, management science and engineering, accounting, technology economy and management, international Chinese language education, and Marxist theory.
- Chinese-taught programs
- RMB 18,500 / year
- English-taught programs
- RMB 21,500 / year
Application requirements
- Non-Chinese citizen in good physical and mental health.
- Bachelor’s degree or equivalent; the English brochure says "under 35 years old", the Chinese version "年龄不超过35周岁" (not over 35) — if you are exactly 35, confirm with the office.
- Chinese-taught programs: HSK Level 4 with a score of 180 or above.
- English-taught programs: IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 75 or Duolingo 100 or above, or a sealed certificate that your highest qualification was taught in English.
- Two recommendation letters from professors or associate professors, a study plan of at least 1,000 words, and evidence of research achievements such as published papers, award certificates or invention patents.
Doctoral degreeGraduate
Three doctoral majors: petroleum and natural gas engineering and mechanical engineering, both available in English, and geological resources and geological engineering, which is Chinese-taught. The supervisor’s acceptance letter is a formal application document, so contact a supervisor well before the 30 May 2026 deadline.
- Chinese-taught programs
- RMB 28,000 / year
- English-taught programs
- RMB 30,000 / year
Application requirements
- Non-Chinese citizen in good physical and mental health.
- Master’s degree in the same or a related discipline as the major applied for, and under 45 years old (Chinese version: not over 45).
- The "Supervisor Acceptance Letter of Xi’an Shiyou University" from the intended supervisor, plus two recommendation letters from experts at associate-professor level or above. Supervisor information and the letter template are linked from the College of International Education site (cie.xsyu.edu.cn/info/1066/2117.htm).
- Chinese-taught programs: HSK Level 4 with a score of 180 or above.
- English-taught programs: IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 75 or Duolingo 100 or above, or a sealed certificate that your master’s degree was taught in English.
- Study plan of at least 1,000 words and evidence of research achievements.
Non-degree programs
Chinese language program
The College of International Education runs medium- and long-term Chinese language and culture programs alongside its degree teaching, plus short-term language and culture training. The tuition shown is from the college’s fee page; that page carries no date, and the 2026 degree brochure does not cover language study, so XSYU does not publish a 2026 application window or entry requirements for it online — ask the office before applying. Language students are eligible for the Xi’an "Belt and Road" Scholarship at RMB 1,000 a month.
Fee · RMB 6,400 / half year or RMB 12,000 / year
Foundation (preparatory) course
The college lists a Xi’an Shiyou University Preparatory Center and a CCN International Preparatory Center under preparatory education. The 2026 brochure mentions the foundation course only as part of scholarships — the Chinese Government Scholarship and the Xi’an "Five Central Asian Countries" Scholarship both cover Foundation Course + Undergraduate/Master/Doctoral study — and it prints no separate fee, duration or deadline for self-funded preparatory students.
Fee · Not published — ask the office
Documents to prepare
- Copy of the passport cover and personal information page; the passport must be valid for at least one year.
- Valid CSCA score report — undergraduate applicants only.
- Highest academic qualification; current students submit a pre-graduation certificate or a certificate of enrolment from their school.
- Academic transcripts covering high school, undergraduate or master’s study up to the most recent semester; transcripts in a language other than Chinese or English need a notarised Chinese or English translation.
- Two recommendation letters from professors or associate professors, in Chinese or English.
- Study plan in China, in Chinese or English: at least 300 words for undergraduates and 1,000 words for master’s and doctoral applicants.
- Research achievements (master’s and doctoral applicants): published papers, award certificates, invention patents or similar.
- Foreigner Physical Examination Form, valid within 6 months and completed in Chinese or English (download at cie.xsyu.edu.cn/info/1066/2118.htm).
- Language certificate: HSK certificate, IELTS/TOEFL/Duolingo score report, or an official certificate of English-taught education.
- Certificate of No Criminal Record, valid within 6 months, with a notarised Chinese or English translation if issued in another language.
- Doctoral applicants: the Supervisor Acceptance Letter of Xi’an Shiyou University.
Application timeline
These are the dates Xi'an Shiyou University published for the 2026 intake. That cycle has closed. Use them as a guide to when each step falls in the year, and check the official pages for the 2027 dates before you plan around them.
- 1
Chinese Government Scholarship applications open
20 Nov 2025Apply on campuschina.org (institution code 10705, program type B) and on the XSYU platform.
- 2
Chinese Government Scholarship deadline
27 Feb 2026Applies to all levels on this route; application fee RMB 1,000.
- 3
University scholarship and self-funded applications open
1 Mar 2026Same opening date for undergraduate, master’s and doctoral applicants; application fee RMB 320.
- 4
Master’s and doctoral deadline (university scholarship and self-funded)
30 May 2026A month earlier than the undergraduate deadline.
- 5
Undergraduate deadline (university scholarship and self-funded)
30 Jun 2026The CSCA score must be submitted with the application by this date. The brochure lists CSCA sittings in January, March, April, June and December — plan to test well before the June deadline.
- 6
Pre-admission and final admission
After reviewProgress, pre-admission and final admission results are sent through the application system and your registered email; the 2026 brochure gives no fixed results or registration dates, so watch both.
Tuition in the 2026 brochure rises by level and by language of instruction: RMB 15,500 / 18,500 a year (Chinese / English) for bachelor’s, RMB 18,500 / 21,500 for master’s and RMB 28,000 / 30,000 for doctoral study. The college’s separate fee page agrees on the bachelor’s and master’s figures but lists no doctoral rate; the doctoral figures come from the 2026 brochure. Add the non-refundable application fee (RMB 320, or RMB 1,000 on the Chinese Government Scholarship route) and accommodation of RMB 3,000–7,500 a year. The 2026 brochure does not state the cost of the compulsory comprehensive medical insurance for international students, so ask the College of International Education for the current premium.
Planning to study at Xi'an Shiyou University?
Ask for turnkey admission to Xi'an Shiyou University: a Qiao partner agency gets in touch, prepares the documents and applies with you. Asking is free; the agency names its price before any contract.
Funding
Scholarships
The 2026 brochure lists four scholarship schemes: the Chinese Government Scholarship, two Xi’an municipal scholarships (the "Five Central Asian Countries" Scholarship and the "Belt and Road" Scholarship) and the Xi’an Shiyou University Scholarship, which comes in five classes. All recipients go through an annual review that decides whether the award continues, is suspended, cancelled or moved up or down a class. Deadlines follow the route: 27 February 2026 for the Chinese Government Scholarship; for university scholarships, the same dates as self-funded applications — 30 May 2026 for master’s and doctoral applicants and 30 June 2026 for undergraduates. The brochure does not set a separate deadline or application form for the Xi’an municipal scholarships, so ask the office how to be considered for them. The college’s scholarship menu also lists the Shaanxi Sanqin Foreign Student Scholarship, but its only notice there dates from 2017 and the 2026 brochure does not include it.
Chinese Government Scholarship
Tuition, on-campus assigned accommodation, living allowance and comprehensive medical insurance for international students in China.
Eligibility: Foundation course plus undergraduate, master’s or doctoral study. XSYU admits Chinese Government Scholarship students independently: register on campuschina.org with institution code 10705 and program type B, then apply on the XSYU platform between 20 November 2025 and 27 February 2026. Application fee RMB 1,000, non-refundable.
Xi’an "Five Central Asian Countries" Scholarship
Tuition, on-campus assigned accommodation, living allowance, comprehensive medical insurance and international travel expenses to China — the only scheme in the brochure that pays for travel.
Eligibility: Foundation course plus undergraduate, master’s or doctoral study. The name indicates students from the five Central Asian countries; the brochure prints no further eligibility terms or allowance amount, so confirm with the office.
Xi’an "Belt and Road" Scholarship
A monthly allowance paid for 10 months: RMB 1,000 for language and preparatory students, RMB 1,500 for undergraduates, RMB 2,000 for master’s students and RMB 2,500 for doctoral students. The brochure does not list tuition or accommodation under this award.
Eligibility: Open, per its allowance table, to language, preparatory, undergraduate, master’s and doctoral students; the brochure does not publish separate eligibility criteria.
Xi’an Shiyou University Scholarship
Five classes covering tuition and designated on-campus accommodation: First class 100% tuition + 100% accommodation; Second class 100% tuition; Third class 50% tuition + 50% accommodation; Fourth class 50% tuition; Fifth class a RMB 5,000 tuition waiver.
Eligibility: Applicants to degree programs on the university-scholarship route (1 March–30 June 2026 for undergraduates, 1 March–30 May 2026 for master’s and doctoral applicants). Recipients are reviewed every year and the class can be raised, lowered, suspended or cancelled.
6 questions · free
What are your scholarship chances at Xi'an Shiyou University?
Tell us your country, level, field, grades, HSK, IELTS or TOEFL score and budget. You get universities sorted into strong, possible and hard, each with its scholarships and deadlines. No account needed.
Check my chancesResearch
Research at the university
XSYU’s research follows the oil and gas industry that co-founded it — petroleum and natural gas engineering, geological resources, pipeline and offshore engineering, petrochemicals, materials and mechanical engineering, with economics and management of the energy sector alongside. The 2026 brochure records engineering, chemistry, earth sciences and materials science in the top 1% of the ESI global rankings and the award of the title "National Engineering Master’s Postgraduate Education Characteristic Engineering Field". The English Brief Introduction counts 54 national and provincial-level research bases and RMB 1.04 billion of research funding over five years. Doctoral study is concentrated in the three disciplines authorised to award doctorates: petroleum and natural gas engineering, geological resources and geological engineering, and mechanical engineering.
Petroleum & natural gas engineering
The flagship: offered at bachelor’s (petroleum engineering; offshore oil and gas engineering), master’s and doctoral level, and in English at every level.
Earth sciences & resource exploration
Geology and resource exploration engineering for undergraduates, geological resources and geological engineering through to the doctorate.
Mechanical, power & materials engineering
Mechanical engineering to doctoral level, power engineering and engineering thermophysics, and materials science and engineering — all available in English at master’s level.
Energy economics & management
Industrial economics, enterprise management, regional economics and technology economy and management in the College of Economics and Management.
- Engineering, chemistry, earth sciences and materials science are in the ESI global top 1% (2026 brochure).
- 1 Shaanxi first-class discipline, 7 provincial-level advantageous disciplines and 1 provincial-level characteristic construction project in philosophy and social sciences.
- In June 2026 the China-SCO Center for Science, Technology and Innovation opened a Xi’an Branch, listed on the university’s International Cooperation page.
Global engagement
Global engagement
XSYU’s English Brief Introduction states partnerships with more than 120 overseas institutions, and its recent agreements lean towards Central Asia and New Zealand. The College of International Education — also called the Silk Road Energy College — describes its students as coming chiefly from Belt and Road countries, Central Asia, Western Asia and Africa, with others from Europe and North America. The university has welcomed international students since 1966 and was authorised in 2013 to recruit under the China–Russia Cultural Exchange Chinese Government Scholarship.
Uzbekistan
A joint training agreement and branch establishment with Uzbekistan’s Ministry of Education and Energy (June 2025), following a university delegation to Uzbekistan in December 2024.
Shanghai Cooperation Organization University
Approved as a Chinese partner institution in July 2025; in June 2026 the China-SCO Center for Science, Technology and Innovation inaugurated its Xi’an Branch.
New Zealand
A Sino-foreign cooperative education agreement with Unitec Institute of Technology (February 2026) and a letter of intent with Whitireia and WelTec (September 2025).
Luban Workshop Alliance
Elected a council member in June 2025.
Career
Career & alumni
XSYU’s co-founders — CNPC, SINOPEC and CNOOC — anchor the industry its programs are built around, which makes the petroleum, geology and pipeline majors the natural choice for students planning careers in their home countries’ oil and gas sectors. The College of International Education has an Employment & Entrepreneurship section on its site and organises company visits for international students; in June 2025 more than 30 international students visited Shaanxi Changfeng Power Co. as part of innovation, entrepreneurship and national-conditions education. The university does not publish employment rates or salary figures for international graduates, so ask the college directly if that matters to your decision.
Career support
- Employment & Entrepreneurship section on the College of International Education website.
- Company visits organised for international students as part of innovation and entrepreneurship education.
Notable alumni
Campus life
Campus life
International students live on one of two campuses in Xi’an, and the choice makes a real difference to cost: a triple room on the Mingde campus costs RMB 4,600 a year, a double RMB 7,500, while a quadruple room on the Huyi campus costs RMB 3,000 (2026 brochure). The college’s fee page describes the apartments as having shared kitchens, laundry facilities, private bathrooms and internet access. Xi’an itself is the starting point of the ancient Silk Road, and the college organises cultural activities — in May 2025 its "Perceiving China – Charm of Shaanxi" social practice series took 50 international students from 19 countries around the province. The college’s site also has pages on student clubs, registration, medical insurance, temporary accommodation registration and residence permits.
Accommodation
Mingde Campus — triple room
RMB 4,600 / year (RMB 2,300 / semester)
Mingde Campus — double room
RMB 7,500 / year (RMB 3,750 / semester)
The college’s undated fee page lists the Mingde apartments as double rooms only, at the same RMB 7,500 per person per year.
Huyi Campus — shared room
RMB 3,000 / year (RMB 1,500 / semester)
The 2026 brochure calls the RMB 3,000 room a quadruple; the college’s fee page calls it a triple (三人间). The price agrees, but confirm the room size with the office before you arrive.
Dining
XSYU does not publish canteen locations or meal prices for international students on its English or international-college pages; the college’s fee page mentions shared kitchens in the apartments. Budget for food separately.
Facilities
Three campuses
Yanta, Mingde and Huyi, 2,078 mu in total; the College of International Education is at No. 18 Dianzi 2nd Road, Yanta District.
Medical insurance
Comprehensive medical insurance for international students is compulsory (and included in Chinese Government Scholarship coverage); the 2026 brochure does not state the premium, so ask the office.
Arrival services
The college’s registration section covers check-in, fee payment, medical insurance, physical-exam verification, temporary accommodation registration and residence-permit applications.
Cultural activities
Social practice and cultural experience trips across Shaanxi, and enterprise visits linked to innovation and entrepreneurship education.
FAQ
Frequently asked questions
How much is tuition at Xi’an Shiyou University for international students?+
Under the 2026 brochure, a bachelor’s degree costs RMB 15,500 a year taught in Chinese or RMB 18,500 in English; a master’s degree RMB 18,500 or RMB 21,500; and a doctorate RMB 28,000 or RMB 30,000. The Chinese language program is RMB 6,400 for half a year or RMB 12,000 a year according to the college’s fee page. Add a non-refundable application fee of RMB 320 (RMB 1,000 on the Chinese Government Scholarship route), a dormitory of RMB 3,000–7,500 a year, and medical insurance, whose price the brochure does not state.
Do I need the CSCA test to apply?+
Undergraduate applicants do: the 2026 brochure requires the China Scholastic Competency Assessment with a passing score, submitted with the application by 30 June 2026. Subjects depend on the major — usually Mathematics and Physics, plus Science (Chinese) for Chinese-taught engineering and science majors — and Chinese language and literature applicants holding HSK 4 with 180 points are exempt from the Humanities and Arts (Chinese) paper. Master’s and doctoral applicants do not take the CSCA.
What are the language requirements?+
Chinese-taught programs at every level require HSK 4 with a score of 180 or above. English-taught bachelor’s programs require IELTS 5.5, TOEFL 69 or Duolingo 90; English-taught master’s and doctoral programs require IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 75 or Duolingo 100. At every level you can instead submit a certificate, with the school’s official seal, that your previous qualification was taught in English.
When are the 2026 application deadlines?+
Chinese Government Scholarship applications ran from 20 November 2025 to 27 February 2026. University-scholarship and self-funded applications opened on 1 March 2026 and closed on 30 May 2026 for master’s and doctoral applicants and on 30 June 2026 for undergraduates. The 2026 cycle has now closed; XSYU has not yet published its 2027 brochure, so check cie.xsyu.edu.cn for the next cycle.
Are there age limits?+
Yes. Undergraduate applicants must be between 18 and 24, master’s applicants under 35 and doctoral applicants under 45. The Chinese version of the brochure words the graduate limits as "not over" 35 and 45, so if you are exactly at the limit, confirm with the office.
What scholarships can international students get?+
The Chinese Government Scholarship (tuition, accommodation, living allowance and insurance); the Xi’an "Five Central Asian Countries" Scholarship, which adds international travel to China; the Xi’an "Belt and Road" Scholarship, a monthly allowance of RMB 1,000–2,500 for 10 months depending on level; and the Xi’an Shiyou University Scholarship in five classes, from full tuition plus accommodation down to a RMB 5,000 tuition waiver. All are reviewed annually.
Which programs are taught in English?+
At bachelor’s level: petroleum engineering, offshore oil and gas engineering, geology, resource exploration engineering, civil engineering, and computer science and technology. At master’s level: ten majors including petroleum and natural gas engineering, geology, electrical, mechanical and materials engineering, computer science, industrial economics and enterprise management. At doctoral level: petroleum and natural gas engineering and mechanical engineering.
Contact
Contact the admissions offices
Reach the College of International Education (Silk Road Energy College), Xi’an Shiyou University for questions about applications, documents, scholarships and arrival. Type university programs and offices are based on campus in Xi'an.
- Office
- College of International Education (Silk Road Energy College), Xi’an Shiyou University
- Address
- College of International Education, Xi’an Shiyou University, No. 18 Dianzi 2nd Road (East Section), Yanta District, Xi’an, Shaanxi 710065, China
Verified from official sources · last checked 2026-09-28
Tuition, fees and deadlines change every intake. Always confirm the current figures on the official Xi'an Shiyou University pages before applying.
- Xi’an Shiyou University 2026 Admission Program Brochure (English)
- 西安石油大学2026年来华留学生学历生招生项目简章 (Chinese)
- Fee information (College of International Education)
- 2025 undergraduate admission brochure (previous cycle)
- 2025 postgraduate admission brochure (previous cycle)
- Chinese Government Scholarship page
- Shaanxi Sanqin Scholarship page
- Xi’an Belt and Road Scholarship page
- About the College of International Education
- Admissions information index
- Preparatory education
- Accommodation services
- Medical insurance
- College of International Education homepage and news
- University English website
- Brief Introduction (English)
- International Cooperation (English)
