About
About Hubei University of Chinese Medicine
Hubei University of Chinese Medicine (湖北中医药大学, HBUCM) was established in 1958, beginning as the Hubei Vocational School of Traditional Chinese Medicine. It later operated as Hubei College of Traditional Chinese Medicine and, in 2003, was renewed by combining with the Hubei College of Medical Laboratory Sciences before taking its present name. The university’s own introduction describes it as the first provincial university in Hubei authorized to confer doctoral degrees in first-level disciplines, jointly established by the Hubei Provincial People’s Government and the National Administration of Traditional Chinese Medicine, and designated a "Domestic First-Class" Discipline Construction University by Hubei Province. It is not on the national Double First-Class list.
The university has two campuses in Wuhan: Tanhualin (昙华林) and Huangjiahu (黄家湖). The university’s address, and that of the College of International Education, is No. 16 Huangjiahu West Road, Hongshan District. HBUCM’s introduction gives a full-time enrolment of approximately 18,300, including about 15,700 undergraduates and 2,636 postgraduates, and 35 undergraduate programs across seven disciplines: medicine, science, engineering, management, literature, education and economics. Teaching runs from bachelor’s to doctoral level.
International students have been taught here since 1986 through the College of International Education (国际教育学院), which shares its administration with the Office of International Cooperation and Exchange (Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan Affairs). The college is responsible for international students and for students from Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan. The university does not publish a current international-student headcount on its English pages, so ask the college if the size of the international cohort matters to you.
As stated in the university’s English introduction
First provincial university in Hubei authorized to confer doctoral degrees in first-level disciplines
Jointly established by the Hubei Provincial Government and the National Administration of Traditional Chinese Medicine
A TCM specialist, not a general university
Teaching and research centre on Traditional Chinese Medicine, Chinese pharmacy, acupuncture and related health sciences — the international offer is built around TCM itself.
Named after Li Shizhen
Hubei is the home province of the Ming-dynasty physician Li Shizhen, author of the Compendium of Materia Medica. The university’s flagship laboratory (Hubei Shizhen Laboratory), its own scholarship for international students (the Li Shizhen Scholarship), its culture festival and its national TCM translation contest all carry his name.
Four decades of international teaching
The College of International Education has admitted international students since 1986 and also serves students from Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan.
Scholarship-led graduate entry
For 2026 the university’s published graduate notices are Chinese Government Scholarship programs — the High-level Graduate Program and the Silk Road Program — rather than a self-funded postgraduate guide.
Admission
Admission, programs & tuition
HBUCM’s 2026 international admission notice (the English Admissions page, published alongside Chinese and English versions of the 2026 International Undergraduate Admission Brochure on 21 November 2025) is an undergraduate notice. Applicants must be non-Chinese citizens holding a valid foreign passport, under the age of 35, in good physical and mental health, and hold a high-school diploma. Two requirements are new compared with older HBUCM brochures and are easy to miss. First, the China Scholastic Competency Assessment (CSCA) is compulsory: science and engineering tracks need three subjects — Professional Chinese (Science), Mathematics, and either Chemistry or Physics — while arts and humanities tracks need two — Professional Chinese (Arts) and Mathematics. Second, the window is short and fixed: online applications run 1 April – 1 June 2026 through the university’s online system, not "throughout the year" as an older, undated brochure still on the college website says. Chinese-taught programs require an HSK Level 4 certificate; English-taught programs require TOEFL or IELTS scores or other proof of English proficiency, waived for native speakers. The 2026 major list is published only as an attachment to the brochure page ("2026 International Student (Undergraduate) Program Directory"), so check it for which majors and which language of instruction are open. Master’s and doctoral study is open to international students — the university charges published international tuition at both levels — but for 2026 the only graduate admission notices HBUCM has published are for Chinese Government Scholarship programs (the High-level Graduate Program, released 21 November 2025, and the Silk Road Program, released 30 April 2026). The university does not publish a self-funded postgraduate guide, graduate age limits or graduate language scores on its English pages, so ask the College of International Education before planning a self-funded master’s or PhD.
Degree programs
Select a degree level to see tuition, duration and entry requirements.
Bachelor’s degreeUndergraduate
Undergraduate degrees in TCM and related health and science fields, drawn from the university’s 35 undergraduate programs; the majors open to international applicants for 2026 are set out in the Program Directory attached to the 2026 brochure. The university’s fee catalogue sets separate international tuition for the five-year Traditional Chinese Medicine degree and for Integrated Chinese and Western Medicine, which is therefore where most international undergraduates study.
- Traditional Chinese Medicine (中医学), 5-year
- RMB 20,000 / year
- Integrated Chinese and Western Medicine (中西医临床医学)
- RMB 18,000 / year
- Thailand joint-training undergraduate program (TCM), 2 years at HBUCM
- RMB 18,000 / year
Application requirements
- Non-Chinese citizen holding a valid foreign passport; applicants already living in China must also show a valid residence permit.
- Under the age of 35, in good physical and mental health.
- High-school graduation certificate (or the highest diploma held) with official or notarized transcripts.
- CSCA score report. Science/engineering tracks: Professional Chinese (Science), Mathematics, and Chemistry or Physics. Arts/humanities tracks: Professional Chinese (Arts) and Mathematics. The 2026 notice sets no minimum CSCA score on the English page.
- Chinese-taught programs: HSK Level 4 certificate. (An older, undated brochure on the college site adds "score ≥ 180"; the 2026 English notice states only the level, so confirm whether a score floor applies.)
- English-taught programs: TOEFL or IELTS scores or other proof of English proficiency; native English speakers are exempt. No minimum score is published on the English page.
- Foreigner Physical Examination Form (valid six months) and a Certificate of Non-Criminal Record.
Master’s degreeGraduate
Three-year master’s study in TCM and related disciplines. For the 2026 intake the university has published graduate admission only through Chinese Government Scholarship channels — the High-level Graduate Program and the Silk Road Program — each with its own major directory attached to the notice. Self-funded master’s applicants should contact the College of International Education directly.
- All master’s programs (international students)
- RMB 30,000 / year
Application requirements
- Non-Chinese citizen with a bachelor’s degree, applying through the relevant Chinese Government Scholarship channel for 2026 (High-level Graduate Program or Silk Road Program).
- A study plan and recommendation letters — the High-level Graduate notice supplies reference templates for both, plus a guide to the CSC online application system.
- Age limits and language scores for graduate entry are not stated on HBUCM’s English pages; check the scholarship notice or ask the college.
Doctoral degreeGraduate
Three-year doctoral study; HBUCM was the first provincial university in Hubei authorized to award doctorates in first-level disciplines. As at master’s level, the only 2026 graduate admission notices published are the Chinese Government Scholarship High-level Graduate and Silk Road programs.
- All doctoral programs (international students)
- RMB 40,000 / year
Application requirements
- Non-Chinese citizen with a master’s degree, applying through the relevant Chinese Government Scholarship channel for 2026.
- A study plan and recommendation letters (templates attached to the High-level Graduate notice).
- Age limits, language scores and any supervisor-acceptance requirement are not stated on HBUCM’s English pages; confirm with the college before applying.
Non-degree programs
Short-term TCM study programs
HBUCM runs group TCM study programs for partner institutions rather than an open-enrolment course: recent examples on the English site are a TCM summer study program for Vietnamese university faculty and students and a TCM training program for Russian specialists, run with the Russian Association of Traditional Oriental Medicine Specialists. These are organised through partner agreements; individuals should ask the College of International Education whether a group they can join is scheduled.
Fee · Not published — arranged per group
Documents to prepare
- Completed application form (the form is attached to the 2026 brochure page).
- Passport copy — the passport must be valid beyond 31 March 2027; applicants currently in China must also supply a valid residence permit.
- Recent passport-sized colour photo, white background, no headwear.
- Highest diploma or high-school graduation certificate.
- Official or notarized academic transcripts; documents not in English or Chinese need notarized translations.
- CSCA score report.
- Personal resume in Chinese or English.
- Photocopy of the Foreigner Physical Examination Form, valid for six months — keep the original, which you need later for the X1 student visa.
- Certificate of Non-Criminal Record.
- HSK Level 4 certificate (Chinese-taught programs) or TOEFL/IELTS or other English proficiency proof (English-taught programs).
Application timeline
These are the dates Hubei University of Chinese Medicine published for the 2026 intake. That cycle has closed. Use them as a guide to when each step falls in the year, and check the official pages for the 2027 dates before you plan around them.
- 1
2026 brochures published
21 Nov 2025Chinese and English 2026 International Undergraduate Admission Brochures and the CSC High-level Graduate Program notice released.
- 2
Online application (undergraduate)
1 Apr – 1 Jun 2026Applications are submitted through the university’s online application system; 1 June 2026 is the deadline.
- 3
Qualification review
10 Apr – 10 Jun 2026Files are reviewed on a rolling basis while the window is open.
- 4
Silk Road Program notice
30 Apr 2026The 2026 Chinese Government Scholarship Silk Road Program notice is released; its deadline is set in the notice itself.
- 5
Admission decisions
Jun – Jul 2026Admitted students receive the Admission Notice and JW202 form to apply for an X1 student visa.
- 6
Arrival and registration
Sep 2026The university does not publish a fixed 2026 registration date on its English pages; the date is given on the Admission Notice.
Tuition figures come from HBUCM’s published fee catalogue (Finance Office, June 2024, for the 2024–2025 academic year), which is the university’s current readable international fee schedule: RMB 20,000 per year for the five-year TCM bachelor’s, RMB 18,000 per year for Integrated Chinese and Western Medicine and for the two-year Thailand joint-training TCM program, RMB 30,000 per year for master’s and RMB 40,000 per year for doctoral study. Later catalogues for 2025 and 2026–2027 have been announced by the Finance Office, so confirm your year’s rate with the College of International Education before paying. Dormitory rates run from RMB 350 to RMB 900 a month (or RMB 4,000–10,000 a year) depending on room type. The application fee, insurance premium and medical-check fee are not published on the English pages — ask the college.
Planning to study at Hubei University of Chinese Medicine?
Ask for turnkey admission to Hubei University of Chinese Medicine: a Qiao partner agency gets in touch, prepares the documents and applies with you. Asking is free; the agency names its price before any contract.
Funding
Scholarships
The university’s 2026 admission page names three layers of funding: the Chinese Government Scholarship, the Hubei Provincial International Student Scholarship and the university’s own Li Shizhen Scholarship. It does not publish the value of the Hubei or Li Shizhen awards on its English pages, so ask the College of International Education what each covers for your level before relying on it. For 2026 the Chinese Government Scholarship is the route the university advertises for graduate study, through two named programs with their own notices.
Chinese Government Scholarship — High-level Graduate Program (高水平研究生项目)
Funding is set by the China Scholarship Council for the program; HBUCM’s notice does not restate the coverage on its English pages.
Eligibility: International applicants for master’s and doctoral study in the majors listed in the notice’s attached directory. The 2026 notice (21 November 2025) supplies a CSC online-system guide and templates for the recommendation letter and study plan.
Chinese Government Scholarship — Silk Road Program (丝绸之路项目)
Set by the China Scholarship Council for the program.
Eligibility: The 2026 notice was published on 30 April 2026; eligibility, majors and deadline are set in that notice — confirm the details with the college.
Hubei Provincial International Student Scholarship
Not published on HBUCM’s English pages — ask the college.
Eligibility: International students at Hubei universities; the 2026 admission page lists it as available to HBUCM applicants.
Li Shizhen Scholarship (HBUCM)
Not published on HBUCM’s English pages — ask the college.
Eligibility: The university’s own award for international students, named on the 2026 admission page.
6 questions · free
What are your scholarship chances at Hubei University of Chinese Medicine?
Tell us your country, level, field, grades, HSK, IELTS or TOEFL score and budget. You get universities sorted into strong, possible and hard, each with its scholarships and deadlines. No account needed.
Check my chancesResearch
Research at the university
HBUCM’s research is concentrated in Traditional Chinese Medicine: medicinal resources and their chemistry, TCM health products, acupuncture, and TCM approaches to brain health in older people. The flagship is the Hubei Shizhen Laboratory, a provincial laboratory established under the Hubei Provincial People’s Government with HBUCM as lead operator. In 2022 the university gained its first Ministry of Education Engineering Research Center, for TCM protection of brain health in the elderly. The English Research Platforms page lists five platforms in all; it does not publish counts of research funding, papers or awards.
Chinese medicine resources & chemistry
The Hubei Provincial Key Laboratory of Chinese Medicine Resources and Chemistry, established in 2001 — one of the province’s earliest accredited key laboratories — passed its provincial evaluation in 2025.
Brain health in the elderly
The Ministry of Education Engineering Research Center of TCM Protection Technology and New Product Development for the Elderly Brain Health, approved in September 2022 and directed by Professor Wang Ping.
TCM health food
The Hubei Provincial Engineering Technology Research Center of Chinese Medicine Health Food (approved 2014, accredited 2017) runs five laboratories covering extraction, formulation, production, evaluation and quality control.
Acupuncture & preventive treatment
The Hubei Collaborative Innovation Center for Acupuncture in Preventive Treatment of Disease.
- Hubei Shizhen Laboratory, led by HBUCM under the Hubei Provincial People’s Government.
- First Ministry of Education Engineering Research Center at the university, approved September 2022.
- May 2026: HBUCM established the Center for the International Communication of Chinese Medical Culture with Sinolingua Press and launched the 8th "Shizhen Cup" National TCM Translation Competition.
Global engagement
Global engagement
HBUCM’s international work is built around exporting TCM education and practice: short group training for foreign practitioners and students, joint undergraduate training with Thai partners, and cultural-communication projects. Its "Silver Needles: A Bridge to People-to-People Connectivity" acupuncture project is presented on the English site as an Outstanding Case of International Development Cooperation. The university does not publish a count of partner institutions on its English pages.
Russia
The Russian Association of Traditional Oriental Medicine Specialists is described as a long-standing partner; in September 2025 the two ran a TCM training program (14–27 September) and a Sino-Russian academic conference on TCM, and a Russian Federal Health Alliance delegation visited to discuss long-term TCM healthcare cooperation.
Thailand
A joint-training TCM undergraduate program with Thai partners carries its own tuition line in the fee catalogue; a delegation from Krirk University has visited the international office.
Vietnam
HBUCM hosts a TCM summer study program for Vietnamese university faculty and students.
TCM cultural communication
In May 2026 HBUCM hosted an international conference on TCM cultural communication with China International Communications Group and Sinolingua Press, founding a Center for the International Communication of Chinese Medical Culture.
Career
Career & alumni
HBUCM does not publish employment or further-study outcomes for international graduates on its English pages, so treat any placement figure you see elsewhere as unsourced. In practice a TCM or Integrated Chinese and Western Medicine degree is a professional medical qualification, and whether it lets you practise depends on the licensing rules of the country where you intend to work — check with your home medical council before enrolling. Ask the College of International Education about clinical placements in the university’s affiliated hospitals and about employment support.
Career support
- Clinical training within the TCM and Integrated Chinese and Western Medicine degrees — ask the College of International Education how clinical placements are arranged for international students.
Notable alumni
Campus life
Campus life
The College of International Education’s address is No. 16 Huangjiahu West Road in Hongshan District, Wuhan. The university’s fee catalogue sets dormitory rates for international students (and students from Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan) in two blocks — the Tanhualin campus and the international student apartment — with four room types, charged either monthly or annually. International students take part in university-wide events such as the Shizhen International Culture Festival: the April 2025 festival drew nearly 1,000 faculty and students to Li Shizhen Square, with food stalls from Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Chad, Congo (Brazzaville), Tanzania and Côte d’Ivoire.
Accommodation
Double room (small / large)
RMB 350–450 / month or RMB 4,000–5,000 / year
Small double RMB 350 a month or RMB 4,000 a year; large double RMB 450 a month or RMB 5,000 a year (2024 fee catalogue).
Single room (small / large)
RMB 700–900 / month or RMB 8,000–10,000 / year
Small single RMB 700 a month or RMB 8,000 a year; large single RMB 900 a month or RMB 10,000 a year (2024 fee catalogue). The catalogue does not say which buildings or campuses offer which room type — confirm on arrival.
Dining
The university does not publish canteen locations or meal prices for international students on its English pages; budget for food separately and ask the college at registration.
Facilities
Shizhen International Culture Festival
An annual campus festival (the third edition was held in April 2025) with performances, Hanfu, a cultural experience zone — lacquer fan making and mugwort massage hammer crafting — and an international food zone.
TCM culture activities and forums
The English site’s Campus section lists TCM culture events and forums, from summer study programs for visiting groups to TCM demonstrations for international guests at the 2025 China-Africa Innovation Cooperation Forum.
Visa
Admitted students receive an Admission Notice and a JW202 form to apply for an X1 student visa at a Chinese embassy or consulate, and need the original physical examination form for it.
Campus
Hubei University of Chinese Medicine in photos
FAQ
Frequently asked questions
How much is tuition at Hubei University of Chinese Medicine for international students?+
According to the university’s fee catalogue (Finance Office, June 2024), the five-year Traditional Chinese Medicine bachelor’s is RMB 20,000 per year, Integrated Chinese and Western Medicine is RMB 18,000 per year, master’s study is RMB 30,000 per year and doctoral study RMB 40,000 per year. Newer catalogues have been announced since, so confirm the rate for your intake with the College of International Education. The application fee and insurance are not published on the English pages.
When is the application deadline for 2026?+
Undergraduate online applications run from 1 April to 1 June 2026, with qualification review from 10 April to 10 June and admission decisions in June–July 2026. Graduate applicants on the Chinese Government Scholarship programs follow the deadlines in the High-level Graduate (published 21 November 2025) and Silk Road (published 30 April 2026) notices.
Do I need the CSCA test to apply?+
Yes, for undergraduate entry. Science and engineering tracks require Professional Chinese (Science), Mathematics, and Chemistry or Physics; arts and humanities tracks require Professional Chinese (Arts) and Mathematics. The CSCA score report is part of the application file.
What language level do I need?+
Chinese-taught programs require an HSK Level 4 certificate. English-taught programs require TOEFL or IELTS scores or other proof of English proficiency, and native English speakers are exempt. The 2026 English notice does not state minimum scores; an older brochure on the college site mentions HSK 4 with a score of at least 180, so confirm with the college.
Is there an age limit?+
Yes — the 2026 admission notice requires applicants to be under 35.
What scholarships are available?+
The Chinese Government Scholarship (for 2026 through the High-level Graduate and Silk Road programs), the Hubei Provincial International Student Scholarship and the university’s own Li Shizhen Scholarship. HBUCM does not publish the coverage of the Hubei or Li Shizhen awards on its English pages, so ask the college what each pays for your level.
How much does a dormitory cost?+
The fee catalogue lists four room types for international students: small double RMB 350 a month (RMB 4,000 a year), large double RMB 450 (RMB 5,000), small single RMB 700 (RMB 8,000) and large single RMB 900 (RMB 10,000).
Contact
Contact the admissions offices
Reach the College of International Education (国际教育学院) / Office of International Cooperation and Exchange, Hubei University of Chinese Medicine for questions about applications, documents, scholarships and arrival. Type university programs and offices are based on campus in Wuhan.
- Office
- College of International Education (国际教育学院) / Office of International Cooperation and Exchange, Hubei University of Chinese Medicine
- Address
- College of International Education, Hubei University of Chinese Medicine, No. 16 Huangjiahu West Road, Hongshan District, Wuhan, Hubei 430065, China
- hucm_sie@hbucm.edu.cn — international student admissions (College of International Education)iesdeanbox@hbucm.edu.cn — College of International Education mailbox listed on the college website
Verified from official sources · last checked 2026-09-28
Tuition, fees and deadlines change every intake. Always confirm the current figures on the official Hubei University of Chinese Medicine pages before applying.
- Admission for International Students 2026 (English site)
- Introduction of HBUCM
- Research platforms
- TCM culture activities and forums
- English site home
- Shizhen International Culture Festival (2025)
- International conference on TCM cultural communication (May 2026)
- Russian Federal Health Alliance visit (Sept 2025)
- College of International Education home
- International student admission notices list
- 2026 International Undergraduate Admission Brochure (Chinese)
- 2026 International Undergraduate Admission Brochure (English)
- 2026 CSC High-level Graduate Program notice
- 2026 CSC Silk Road Program notice
- Older undergraduate admission brochure (undated)
- 2024 fee catalogue, first batch (tuition and dormitory rates)
- Finance Office information disclosure (fee catalogue list)
- Wikipedia — history
