About
About University of Electronic Science and Technology of China
The University of Electronic Science and Technology of China (电子科技大学), widely known as UESTC or 成电 (Chengdian), was founded in 1956 as the Chengdu Institute of Radio Engineering (成都电讯工程学院). Its 2026 admission guidebook describes it as founded by merging the electrical departments of three leading Chinese engineering universities. It was named a national key university in 1960, designated one of seven national defence-industry institutions in 1961, and took its present name in 1988. It is a key university under the Ministry of Education, in the first batches of Project 211 and Project 985, and among the first universities in the national Double First-Class initiative.
UESTC has three campuses in Chengdu — Qingshuihe (No. 2006 Xiyuan Avenue, West Hi-Tech Zone), Shahe (No. 4, Section 2, North Jianshe Road) and Jiulidi (No. 8 West Jiulidi Road) — covering more than 3,700 mu (about 247 hectares) in total. The School of International Education is at Qingshuihe, which the new-student guidebook calls the “New Campus”; Shahe is the “Old Campus”. The university also runs a Yongning Park of the Qingshuihe campus, built with the Wenjiang District government, and the UESTC Glasgow Hainan College in the Lingshui Li’an International Education Innovation Pilot Zone in Hainan.
The university describes itself as covering the whole electronic-information family of disciplines, engineering-led, with science, management, humanities and medicine alongside. The university’s Chinese-language introduction (updated July 2026) counts more than 44,000 undergraduate, master’s and doctoral students, more than 3,800 faculty and staff including more than 800 professors, and a teaching force led by 11 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Chinese Academy of Engineering. It holds 23 first-level doctoral and 33 first-level master’s degree programs, and more than 1,000 long-term international students from over 100 countries and regions. The 2026 admission guidebook gives slightly different figures: “nearly 800 professors” rather than more than 800, and “around 1,000 international students”; QS’s profile lists 960 international students. None of these pages says which count is more recent.
QS TopUniversities profile, which also lists UESTC at #=488 in the 2027 edition
As stated in the UESTC 2026 admission guidebook, which does not name the edition
Electronic Science and Technology, and Information and Communication Engineering — per the university introduction, joint-most A+ disciplines among universities in western China
Engineering, Materials Science and Chemistry are in the ESI top 1‰, per the university introduction
China’s electronics university
Built around electronic information science and technology, and rated A+ in the national discipline evaluation for both Electronic Science and Technology and Information and Communication Engineering.
Tuition from RMB 15,000 a year
Chinese-taught bachelor’s degrees are RMB 15,000 a year and English-taught ones RMB 20,000; master’s study is RMB 25,000 and doctoral study RMB 34,000, per the 2026 guidebook.
English-taught graduate study
The 2026 guidebook lists 15 English-taught master’s and 14 English-taught Ph.D. programs, and states that all of the listed graduate majors can also be taken in Chinese.
A research-bound undergraduate body
The university introduction states that more than 70% of UESTC undergraduates go on to further study every year, and more than 30% study overseas during their degree.
Admission
Admission, programs & tuition
UESTC admits international students to bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees, to a Chinese Pre-University Program, a Chinese Language Program and an Exchange Program. All applications go through the online system at admission.uestc.edu.cn and follow the same six steps set out in the 2026 guidebook: online submission, initial review, payment of the application fee, academic review, admission confirmation and visa application — so the RMB 420 fee is paid only once your file has passed the initial review. Degree study has an autumn intake only: the guidebook states that UESTC “does not provide Spring Semester Intake” for either undergraduate or graduate programs. The two degree levels close on very different dates: 1 March 2026 for master’s and Ph.D. applicants, 30 June 2026 for bachelor’s applicants. Bachelor’s applicants must also register for and take the China Scholastic Competency Assessment (CSCA) before the application deadline and obtain a valid score report, and meet the nationality rules of Ministry of Education Document Jiao Wai Han [2020] No. 12. One wording issue to be aware of: the English guidebook prints the graduate age limits as “≥35” and “≥40”, which reads as a minimum age; the Chinese edition of the same guidebook states 35岁以下 and 40岁以下 — under 35 for master’s and under 40 for doctoral applicants — which is the limit this guide uses. Confirm with the School of International Education if you are close to either age.
Degree programs
Select a degree level to see tuition, duration and entry requirements.
Bachelor’s degreeUndergraduate
Four-year bachelor’s degrees (five years for Clinical Medicine) taught in Chinese or English. The 2026 guidebook states that there are 11 Chinese-taught and 3 English-taught undergraduate programs, and lists eleven majors across engineering, science and medicine: Electronic Information Engineering, Communication Engineering, Computer Science and Technology, Software Engineering, Mechanical Design Manufacture and Automation, Electrical Engineering and Automation, Biomedical Engineering, Renewable Energy Materials and Devices, Biologic Technology, Nursing and Clinical Medicine. The text of the guidebook does not name which three majors are English-taught, and the program page it links for CSCA subjects (en.uestc.edu.cn/admission/programs/undergraduate.htm) could not be read for this guide — check the language of your major there before applying.
- Chinese-taught programs
- RMB 15,000 / year
- Chinese-taught Clinical Medicine
- RMB 45,000 / year
- Chinese-taught Nursing
- RMB 33,000 / year
- English-taught programs
- RMB 20,000 / year
Application requirements
- Non-Chinese citizen meeting the nationality requirements of Ministry of Education Document Jiao Wai Han [2020] No. 12.
- Aged 18 or over (18岁以上 in the Chinese edition), physically and mentally healthy.
- Senior high-school diploma or equivalent, with a CSCA score that meets UESTC’s requirements.
- China Scholastic Competency Assessment (CSCA): register for and take the test before the 30 June 2026 application deadline and obtain a valid score report. Test dates and content are published at www.csca.cn, and each major has its own mandatory CSCA subjects, listed on UESTC’s undergraduate program page.
- Chinese-taught programs: HSK 5 with a score of at least 180.
- English-taught programs: TOEFL 80 or above, IELTS 5.5 or above, or equivalent.
Master’s degreeGraduate
Master’s degrees with a minimum study period of two years. The 2026 guidebook counts 15 English-taught master’s programs and lists graduate majors across engineering, science, management and the arts: Electronic Science and Technology, Information and Communication Engineering, Computer Science and Technology, Optical Engineering, Software Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Instrument Science and Technology, Control Science and Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Physics, Mathematics, Management Science and Engineering, Business Administration, Public Management, and Foreign Language and Literature. It adds that “All the above-mentioned majors can offer Chinese Taught Programs”, with details from the School of International Education. To graduate you must meet the program requirements, the publication criteria and pass the thesis defence.
- All master’s programs
- RMB 25,000 / year
Application requirements
- Non-Chinese citizen holding a bachelor’s degree or equivalent.
- Under 35 and physically and mentally healthy — the Chinese guidebook says 35岁以下; the English edition prints “≥35”, which appears to be a misprint.
- Chinese-taught programs: HSK 6 with a score of at least 180 — a level higher than the HSK 5 asked of undergraduates.
- English-taught programs: TOEFL 80 or above, IELTS 5.5 or above, or equivalent.
- Autumn intake only; applications are accepted from 1 December 2025 to 1 March 2026.
Doctoral degreeGraduate
Ph.D. programs with a minimum study period of four years. The 2026 guidebook counts 14 English-taught doctoral programs drawn from the same graduate major list, and every listed major can also be taken in Chinese. The degree is awarded after meeting program requirements and publication criteria and passing the thesis defence. UESTC also runs its own International Excellent PhD Program scholarship for doctoral applicants (see scholarships).
- All doctoral programs
- RMB 34,000 / year
Application requirements
- Non-Chinese citizen holding a master’s degree or equivalent.
- Under 40 and physically and mentally healthy — the Chinese guidebook says 40岁以下; the English edition prints “≥40”, which appears to be a misprint.
- Chinese-taught programs: HSK 6 with a score of at least 180.
- English-taught programs: TOEFL 80 or above, IELTS 5.5 or above, or equivalent.
- Autumn intake only; applications are accepted from 1 December 2025 to 1 March 2026.
Non-degree programs
Chinese Pre-University Program
A preparatory program for international students who plan to take an undergraduate degree in China, built on a “General Chinese + Academic Chinese (Science and Engineering) + Mathematics” model, with Chinese, mathematics, physics, cultural-adaptation lectures and cultural immersion activities, plus targeted HSK and CSCA preparation. Training runs in a spring semester (March–July) and an autumn semester (September–January). Open to non-Chinese citizens aged 18 to 26 with a high-school education or equivalent. Applications for the autumn 2026 intake closed on 30 June 2026; applications for the spring intake are accepted until 31 December 2026.
Fee · RMB 12,500 / semester
Chinese Language Program
Level-based Chinese language study for daily life, further study and work. Courses fall into three groups: Chinese language (comprehensive Chinese; beginning, intermediate and advanced listening and speaking; reading and writing), culture and tradition (lectures on traditional Chinese culture, Chinese society and folk custom) and language practice (social investigation and other activities outside the classroom). Open to non-Chinese citizens aged 18 or over with a study certificate or their highest diploma. The autumn 2026 deadline was 30 June 2026; spring-intake applications close 31 December 2026.
Fee · RMB 12,500 / semester
Exchange Program
Coursework or research exchange in any major on the undergraduate and graduate lists. The application system is open all year round. Undergraduates must be in their second year (sophomore) or above. Language levels depend on the track: HSK 5 with 180 or above for a General Visiting Student, HSK 6 with 180 or above for a Senior Visiting Student, and TOEFL 80 or IELTS 5.5 (or equivalent) for English-taught study. Students from CSC partner universities can apply for the China Link Scholarship Program; exchange students can also apply for the Chinese Government Scholarship through the Chinese embassy or consulate in their own country, and UESTC offers its own scholarship for the UESTC Short-Term Research Training Program.
Fee · Not published in the 2026 guidebook; tuition and other fees may be waived for students from partner universities under the inter-university agreement
Documents to prepare
- Passport proving non-Chinese citizenship under Ministry of Education Document Jiao Wai Han [2020] No. 12.
- Highest diploma: a senior high-school diploma or equivalent for bachelor’s study, a bachelor’s degree or equivalent for master’s study, a master’s degree or equivalent for Ph.D. study, a high-school education for the Pre-University Program, and a study certificate or highest diploma for the Chinese Language Program.
- CSCA score report — bachelor’s applicants only, and it must be valid and obtained before the 30 June 2026 deadline.
- Language certificate, and the level depends on the program: HSK 5 (180+) for Chinese-taught bachelor’s programs and General Visiting Students; HSK 6 (180+) for Chinese-taught master’s and Ph.D. programs and Senior Visiting Students; TOEFL 80 or IELTS 5.5, or equivalent, for all English-taught study.
- Health: the guidebook requires applicants at every level to be physically and mentally healthy, but does not say which health form to submit.
- The 2026 guidebook does not print a full document checklist — review the list shown in the online application system at admission.uestc.edu.cn before you start, and contact the School of International Education if anything is unclear.
Application timeline
These are the dates University of Electronic Science and Technology of China published for the 2026 intake. That cycle has closed. Use them as a guide to when each step falls in the year, and check the official pages for the 2027 dates before you plan around them.
- 1
2026 application round announced
10 Oct 2025UESTC’s English site posted the notice “2026 Application Starts From Dec.1st, 2025”.
- 2
Online application opens
1 Dec 2025Bachelor’s, master’s and Ph.D. applications open on the same day at admission.uestc.edu.cn.
- 3
Master’s and Ph.D. deadline
By 1 Mar 2026Autumn intake only — UESTC has no spring graduate intake.
- 4
CSCA test and score report (bachelor’s)
Before 30 Jun 2026Bachelor’s applicants must register for and sit the CSCA and hold a valid score report before the application deadline; check the test calendar at www.csca.cn.
- 5
Bachelor’s deadline
30 Jun 2026Also the autumn 2026 deadline for the Chinese Pre-University and Chinese Language programs.
- 6
Exchange Program applications
All yearThe exchange application system stays open all year round.
- 7
Autumn semester starts
Sep 2026The Pre-University Program’s autumn semester runs September–January. The 2026 guidebook gives no registration date for new degree students — check your admission notice.
- 8
Spring intake deadline (non-degree)
By 31 Dec 2026Chinese Pre-University and Chinese Language programs only; the pre-university spring semester runs March–July.
UESTC’s 2026 guidebook sets tuition at RMB 15,000 a year for Chinese-taught bachelor’s programs (RMB 45,000 for Clinical Medicine and RMB 33,000 for Nursing), RMB 20,000 a year for English-taught bachelor’s programs, RMB 25,000 a year for master’s study and RMB 34,000 a year for Ph.D. study. The Chinese Pre-University and Chinese Language programs are RMB 12,500 per semester. On top of tuition, budget for the RMB 420 application fee paid by all applicants, a dormitory at RMB 6,000 a year (double room) or RMB 3,000 a year (four-bed room), compulsory medical insurance at RMB 1,000 a year and RMB 200–400 each time you apply for a residence permit. The 2025 new-student guidebook adds RMB 500–600 for bedding, RMB 40–1,000 per physical examination and about RMB 1,500–2,000 a month for meals. The guidebook says nothing about refunds — confirm the current figures with the School of International Education before paying.
Funding
Scholarships
The 2026 guidebook groups UESTC’s scholarships into five headings: the Chinese Government Scholarship (with five channels), the Chengdu Government Scholarship (two schemes), the University Scholarship, the International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship and the UESTC International Excellent PhD Program. What the guidebook does not do is state amounts or deadlines for any of them — its cost page prints tuition, not scholarship coverage — and the university’s individual English scholarship pages could not be read for this guide. So treat the coverage lines below as the scheme’s general terms where an official source gives them, and confirm the details for the 2026 round with the School of International Education (admission@uestc.edu.cn). Note that the graduate deadline (1 March 2026) comes four months before the undergraduate one, so graduate scholarship applicants must be ready by early spring.
Chinese Government Scholarship — Chinese University Program
Terms are set by the China Scholarship Council; the UESTC guidebook does not restate them.
Eligibility: Listed first among UESTC’s Chinese Government Scholarship channels in the 2026 guidebook, which gives no separate criteria or deadline for it; applicants must still meet UESTC’s admission requirements for their level, and the graduate application deadline is 1 March 2026.
Chinese Government Scholarship — Bilateral Program
Terms are set by the China Scholarship Council.
Eligibility: Apply via the Chinese embassy (or the dispatching authority) in your own country, naming UESTC as your preferred university. The exchange section of the guidebook confirms exchange students can also try this route.
Chinese Government Scholarship — EU / AUN / PIF / Great Wall Programs
Terms are set by the China Scholarship Council.
Eligibility: Channels for candidates nominated through the European Union, the ASEAN University Network, the Pacific Islands Forum and the UNESCO Great Wall program; UESTC lists them together in its guidebook.
Youth of Excellence Scheme of China (YES China)
Terms are set by the China Scholarship Council.
Eligibility: Listed by UESTC as one of its Chinese Government Scholarship channels; the guidebook gives no further criteria.
China Link Scholarship Program
Terms are set by the China Scholarship Council.
Eligibility: For students from CSC partner universities; UESTC publishes the partner-university list on its English site (en.uestc.edu.cn/info/1102/4682.htm). The guidebook presents it as a route for exchange students.
Chengdu Sister City Scholarship
Not stated in the 2026 guidebook. When UESTC reported its 2014 winners, the scheme funded up to RMB 30,000 per person per year towards tuition, accommodation and medical insurance, reviewed each semester — an old figure that should be confirmed for 2026.
Eligibility: Outstanding international students from Chengdu’s international sister cities who are applying to, or already studying at, a university in Chengdu — doctoral, master’s, undergraduate and non-degree students, per the 2014 report.
Chengdu Belt and Road Initiative Scholarship
Not stated in the 2026 guidebook. When the Chengdu scheme was announced in January 2018, it paid RMB 30,000 per academic year for doctoral, RMB 25,000 for master’s and RMB 20,000 for undergraduate students, towards tuition, accommodation, living costs and comprehensive medical insurance. Confirm the current rates.
Eligibility: At announcement: a valid foreign passport and citizenship of a Belt and Road country, a strong academic record with no disciplinary violations, the required language level, and no other Chinese Government Scholarship. Applications were accepted each September.
UESTC University Scholarship
Not published in the 2026 guidebook.
Eligibility: UESTC’s own award, listed alongside the government schemes; apply through the online application system and confirm the criteria for your level with the School of International Education.
UESTC International Excellent PhD Program
Not published in the 2026 guidebook.
Eligibility: A university scheme aimed at doctoral applicants.
International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship
Terms are set by the scholarship scheme, not by UESTC.
Eligibility: Listed by UESTC for Chinese language study; the guidebook gives no further criteria.
UESTC Short-Term Research Training Program scholarship
Not published in the 2026 guidebook.
Eligibility: Offered by UESTC to exchange students on its Short-Term Research Training Program; students from partner universities may also have tuition waived under their university’s agreement.
Research
Research at the university
UESTC’s research is built around electronic information science and technology — electronic science, information and communication, computing, optics, instrumentation, control and materials — with management, the humanities and medicine alongside. The university introduction (updated July 2026) credits it with 32 national-level and 93 provincial or ministerial science and technology innovation platforms, including national key laboratories and national engineering technology research centres, as well as 6 innovation research groups funded by the National Natural Science Foundation of China and 12 national science and technology innovation teams. Its faculty is led by 11 academicians of the two national academies and academicians of developed countries, with more than 420 full-time high-level talents. Two disciplines, Electronic Science and Technology and Information and Communication Engineering, are rated A+ in the national discipline evaluation. For a research-minded international applicant, the graduate major list maps closely onto these strengths.
Electronic science & technology
One of UESTC’s two A+ disciplines and the core of the university since its foundation as a radio-engineering institute; it heads the graduate major list in the 2026 guidebook.
Information & communication engineering
The second A+ discipline. Communication Engineering and Electronic Information Engineering are on the undergraduate list, and Glasgow College’s specialisms — communications, information engineering and microelectronics — sit in the same field.
Computer science & artificial intelligence
Computer Science is in the ESI top 1‱ per the university introduction; Computer Science and Technology and Software Engineering appear on both the undergraduate and graduate major lists.
Engineering, materials & chemistry
Engineering, Materials Science and Chemistry are in the ESI top 1‰, reflected in programs such as Materials Science and Engineering and Renewable Energy Materials and Devices.
- 32 national-level science and technology innovation platforms, including national key laboratories and national engineering technology research centres (university introduction, updated July 2026).
- Computer Science in the ESI top 1‱; Engineering, Materials Science and Chemistry in the ESI top 1‰.
- Ranked No. 137 in the U.S. News Best Global Universities, as cited in the 2026 admission guidebook.
- Affiliated with the University of Glasgow through Glasgow College, which teaches electronics and electrical engineering jointly with Glasgow staff.
Global engagement
Global engagement
UESTC’s university introduction states that it has partnerships with more than 200 universities, research institutions and companies in over 70 countries and regions, and that more than 30% of its undergraduates spend part of their studies overseas. Its best-known international venture is Glasgow College, a Ministry of Education-approved partnership with the University of Glasgow: according to Glasgow’s own partnership page, students study at UESTC’s Chengdu (Qingshuihe) or Hainan campus, are taught jointly by staff of both universities, and graduate with two degrees in electronics and electrical engineering specialising in communications, information engineering or microelectronics. UESTC’s Hainan outpost is the UESTC Glasgow Hainan College in the Lingshui Li’an International Education Innovation Pilot Zone. The English site also lists a UESTC–Khalifa University International Outstanding Engineers Program. UESTC’s 2026 International Summer School, reported on the English homepage, brought together 279 international faculty and students from 58 universities in 23 countries.
Glasgow College, UESTC
A partnership with the University of Glasgow, a Russell Group university, approved by China’s Ministry of Education. Students earn two degrees in electronics and electrical engineering (communications, information engineering or microelectronics) at the Chengdu (Qingshuihe) or Hainan campus.
UESTC Glasgow Hainan College
UESTC’s college in the Lingshui Li’an International Education Innovation Pilot Zone, Hainan Province, named in the university introduction.
UESTC–Khalifa University International Outstanding Engineers Program
A joint program with Khalifa University in the United Arab Emirates, announced on UESTC’s English homepage; details are published in its enrolment notice.
China Link and exchange partners
Students from CSC partner universities can reach UESTC on the China Link Scholarship Program, and students from UESTC’s own partner universities may have tuition waived under inter-university agreements.
Career
Career & alumni
UESTC’s university introduction states that more than 70% of its undergraduates go on to further study every year — a figure for all students, not specifically for international graduates. The university publishes no employment, placement or salary statistics for international graduates in its 2026 admission guidebook or on the English pages read for this guide, so treat any such number seen elsewhere as unsourced. Note that the “Employment” menu on UESTC’s English website is about working at UESTC — Talent Recruitment and Prospective Language Teachers — not about careers for students. The university’s best-known graduates are in the Chinese technology industry.
Career support
- The 2025 new-student guidebook gives admission@uestc.edu.cn as the contact for international student affairs; no careers service for international students is described in the 2026 guidebook or on the English pages read for this guide.
Notable alumni
Sun Yafang
Served as chairwoman of Huawei
Ding Lei (William Ding)
Chairman of NetEase
Campus life
Campus life
UESTC provides on-campus dormitories for international students; family members are not eligible to live in them, and students may live off campus if they can afford the rent, per the 2025 new-student guidebook. Dormitory reservations are made before arrival through the online system at admission.uestc.edu.cn. The same guidebook reminds X1-visa holders that they must register at the university and convert the visa into a residence permit within 30 days of entry — processing takes three to five weeks, during which your passport is held — and that all international students must buy the university’s comprehensive medical insurance. Both the Qingshuihe and Shahe campuses have a campus hospital, libraries, gymnasiums, stadiums and swimming pools.
Accommodation
On-campus dormitory — double room
RMB 6,000 / year
2026 admission guidebook; the same price appears in the 2025 new-student guidebook. Budget another RMB 500–600 for bedding.
On-campus dormitory — quad room
RMB 3,000 / year
2026 admission guidebook. Reservations are made online through admission.uestc.edu.cn; dormitory contact Ms Zhang Xin, monicachengdu@uestc.edu.cn.
Off-campus housing
Not set by the university
Allowed, provided you can afford the rent (2025 new-student guidebook).
Dining
The 2025 new-student guidebook lists seven cafeterias on the Qingshuihe campus — Xuezi, Siyuan, Jiayuan, Yinhua, Zijin, Furong and Xibei — and two on the Shahe campus, Sunshine and Guiyuan. It estimates food costs at about RMB 1,500–2,000 a month, depending on your budget.
Facilities
Three campuses in Chengdu
Qingshuihe (West Hi-Tech Zone), Shahe (North Jianshe Road) and Jiulidi (West Jiulidi Road), more than 3,700 mu in total. The School of International Education is at Qingshuihe.
Health care & insurance
Campus hospitals at Qingshuihe and Shahe. Comprehensive medical insurance is compulsory for all international students at RMB 1,000 a year; the insurer’s hotline is 400-810-5119 (extension 1), and the policy does not cover private hospitals or clinics.
Sport & study
Libraries, gymnasiums, stadiums, swimming pools, teaching and research buildings and auditoriums on both main campuses.
Visa & residence permit
Long-stay students enter on an X1 visa and must convert it to a residence permit within 30 days of arrival; each residence permit application costs RMB 200–400. The School of International Education publishes orientation and contact details at en.uestc.edu.cn/Campus_Life/Orientation.htm.
Campus
University of Electronic Science and Technology of China in photos
Photos of University of Electronic Science and Technology of China
Photos will appear here once they are uploaded from the Qiao admin panel. In the meantime, Qiao is on it.
FAQ
Frequently asked questions
How much is tuition at UESTC for international students?+
Per the 2026 guidebook, Chinese-taught bachelor’s programs are RMB 15,000 a year, except Clinical Medicine (RMB 45,000) and Nursing (RMB 33,000); English-taught bachelor’s programs are RMB 20,000 a year. Master’s study is RMB 25,000 a year and Ph.D. study RMB 34,000 a year. The Chinese Language and Chinese Pre-University programs are RMB 12,500 per semester. Add the RMB 420 application fee, a dormitory at RMB 3,000–6,000 a year, medical insurance at RMB 1,000 a year and RMB 200–400 per residence-permit application.
Do I need the CSCA test to apply to UESTC?+
Only for a bachelor’s degree. The 2026 guidebook requires bachelor’s applicants to register for and take the China Scholastic Competency Assessment before the application deadline (30 June 2026) and to obtain a valid score report, and each major has its own mandatory CSCA subjects. Master’s, Ph.D., exchange and non-degree applicants are not asked for it; the Chinese Pre-University Program actually includes CSCA preparation.
What are the language requirements at UESTC?+
Chinese-taught bachelor’s programs require HSK 5 with at least 180 points; Chinese-taught master’s and Ph.D. programs require HSK 6 with at least 180. All English-taught programs ask for TOEFL 80 or IELTS 5.5, or equivalent. Exchange students need HSK 5 (180+) as General Visiting Students or HSK 6 (180+) as Senior Visiting Students if studying in Chinese.
When is the UESTC application deadline?+
For the 2026 intake, applications opened on 1 December 2025. Master’s and Ph.D. applications closed on 1 March 2026 and bachelor’s applications on 30 June 2026 — there is no spring intake for degree study. The Chinese Pre-University and Chinese Language programs closed on 30 June 2026 for autumn and take spring applications until 31 December 2026. The Exchange Program accepts applications all year.
Are there age limits for international applicants?+
Yes. Bachelor’s applicants must be at least 18, master’s applicants under 35 and Ph.D. applicants under 40, per the Chinese edition of the 2026 guidebook (the English edition prints the graduate limits as “≥35” and “≥40”, which appears to be a misprint — confirm with the university if you are close to the limit). The Chinese Pre-University Program takes students aged 18 to 26, and the Chinese Language Program anyone aged 18 or over.
Does UESTC offer scholarships to international students?+
Yes. The 2026 guidebook lists the Chinese Government Scholarship (Chinese University Program, Bilateral Program, EU/AUN/PIF/Great Wall, YES China and China Link), the Chengdu Government Scholarship (Sister City and Belt and Road schemes), the UESTC University Scholarship, the International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship and the UESTC International Excellent PhD Program. The guidebook does not publish amounts or deadlines for any of them, so confirm the terms with the School of International Education — and remember that graduate applications close on 1 March.
Where do international students live, and how much does it cost?+
In on-campus dormitories: RMB 6,000 a year for a double room or RMB 3,000 a year for a four-bed room, reserved online through admission.uestc.edu.cn. Bedding is about RMB 500–600 extra and meals about RMB 1,500–2,000 a month. Family members cannot stay in the dormitory, but you may live off campus if you can afford the rent.
Contact
Contact the admissions offices
Reach the School of International Education, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China (Qingshuihe Campus) for questions about applications, documents, scholarships and arrival. Type university programs and offices are based on campus in Chengdu.
- Office
- School of International Education, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China (Qingshuihe Campus)
- Address
- No. 2006, Xiyuan Avenue, West Hi-Tech Zone, Chengdu, Sichuan 611731, P.R. China
- admission@uestc.edu.cn — international admissions (School of International Education)monicachengdu@uestc.edu.cn — Ms Zhang Xin, dormitory reservationsEng-partnerships@glasgow.ac.uk — Glasgow College admissions enquiries (University of Glasgow)
Verified from official sources · last checked 2026-09-15
Tuition, fees and deadlines change every intake. Always confirm the current figures on the official University of Electronic Science and Technology of China pages before applying.
- UESTC 2026 Admission Guidebook for International Students (English)
- UESTC 2026 Admission Guidebook for International Students (Chinese)
- 2025 Guidebook for UESTC International Students (new-student guide)
- UESTC English homepage (news, notices, campus addresses)
- 电子科技大学 学校简介 (university introduction, updated July 2026)
- 成电新闻网 — 成都市友城留学生政府奖学金 (2014)
- 中国一带一路网 — 成都设“一带一路”奖学金 (2018)
- University of Glasgow — Glasgow College UESTC
- QS TopUniversities — UESTC profile
- Wikipedia — University of Electronic Science and Technology of China
